The Conjurer (Summon/Curse necromancer)

Go down

The Conjurer (Summon/Curse necromancer)

Post  OniNeko on Mon Dec 15, 2008 11:41 am

Okay, confession up front. I just thought up the name. I feel it fits well, though. Not only does he conjure up spirits to possess the lifeless bones of his fallen enemies to aid him in battle, but he conjures illusions of fear, debilitating darkness, and ravages the minds of his opponents to further aid himself and his allies.

Since I started playing Diablo 2, I've loved the necromancer. I've always been drawn to the darker ways of doing good things, so he fit me very well. Throughout my classic and into my LoD career there is one thing I struggled with, though. Summoners on their own are not very survivable. Most basic summoners on LoD spam amplify damage and rely on their sheer numbers to overtake their opponent.

What if you're not getting rushed? What if you don't have any gear? What if *GASP* you're not even playing Lord of Destruction? Can a classic necromancer survive? Can he be self-sufficient and start with no gear? Could he really get to a4 hell BY HIMSELF?

Wait for it............. no, really....... it's coming......... yes, yes and YES.

The point of the waiting is you're going to be doing a lot of it. Almost everyone knows the necromancer is far from a killing machine, but he is definitely the thing of the enemy's worst nightmares.

This guide is a style synopsis and not a build guide. I will lay out the basics, and give you an idea of what I did, but I will not be stepping you through the evolution of the character. Also, I've found a huge range of gear to be effective, be they maximizing +skills or maximizing resistance and survivability, so I leave that up to you. I do not take credit for this either. I'm merely reproducing here what I've researched and found to be tried and true. Oh, I do take credit for the name. Twisted Evil